Hitting the marathon training wall

IMAG2344

Marathon training is hard. That’s pretty much a given. But sometimes it feels like an insurmountable challenge.

Having successfully completed the Paris marathon 2014, I assumed adopting the same plan again for this year’s Berlin marathon would be fairly straightforward. Unfortunately, it hasn’t been quite as simple as I might have hoped.

For me running has always been something of a cure for stress, providing a distraction when nothing else works.

It hasn’t quite worked out that way this time around though.

Instead of providing the motivation to get out and hit the road, the stresses of the past few months have left me feeling tired and drained. When I’ve dragged myself out I’ve felt sluggish and slow. I’ve had no major illnesses or injuries, just a few minor illnesses which have made things that much harder, and a few pains and twinges which have forced me to skip some of my shorter runs.

I haven’t always helped myself either. I’ve run a few times hungover, reasoning that I’m below par already and skipping an evening out would only make me more miserable.

All in all, this time I’ve found the whole training experience rather dispiriting.

However, last¬†Saturday I managed to finish my longest training run, getting through 20 miles. It was slower than my 20 miler before Paris, and I found myself walking off a stitch a couple of times, as well as suffering back pain in the final couple of miles. But I made it through, and feel confident that even if I don’t finish in the best of times, I will at least complete those 26.2 miles in Berlin on September 27.¬†And despite the challenges of training, that’s really all that matters.

I’m running the Berlin Marathon for the Stroke Association and Battersea Dogs and Cats Home. If you’d like to, you can sponsor me here

2 comments

  1. Kevin · September 6, 2015

    I wish marathon training was a formula. You are right that it isn’t the same every training period. I wish it was and wish I knew what to expect each session. Keep having fun at it though as you tough it out.

    Like

  2. Pingback: From expo to the finish line: Berlin Marathon 2015 | excessively diverted

Leave a Reply

