Poole 10k race review: Always hot, always worth it

Poole 10k

My first ever running race was a one miler, at the age of nine, at the Poole Festival of Running. Roll on a few years, and I got back into running and completed my first ever 10k at the 2013 Festival of Running. So it’s fair to say this race is quite close to my heart!

COST

£13 EA registered runners, £15 other runners

PRE-RACE ORGANISATION

Register online, or visit race HQ the day before. Race numbers aren’t posted out – you pick them up at race HQ the day before.

TOILETS

Public toilets and quite a few Portaloos, so nothing to complain about from me!

 

 

IMG_20160605_170918

THE RACE

The race is two laps, starting in Poole Park, going around the edge of the harbour and back into the park. It’s a nice route, and one as a London dweller I try not to take for granted, especially the view of Brownsea Island as you come around the harbour.

With the minithons and 5k taking place in the morning, the 10k isn’t until the afternoon. This invariably means the race takes place in the sweltering heat. Seriously, if you ever want to guarantee a sunny day in Poole, opt for the first Sunday in June.

As such, I struggled to get around in my target time – while I started off fine, the heat soon got to me and I found myself slowing down. I decided to just relax, soak up the views and enjoy it. I ended up finishing a couple of minutes outside of my target time, but wasn’t too bothered!

RACE BLING

Normally the Poole 10k just gives out a t-shirt, but this year we got a medal too. The t-shirt wasn’t quite as good as previous years – it was quite nice to see the local scenery incorporated into the t-shirt – but this was more than made up for by the addition of a rather nice medal.

OVERALL VERDICT

Is it hot? Yes. Is it a bit annoying to be running at 2pm? A little. But this isn’t just a 10k, it’s a family event, and it’s difficult to see another way to balance all of the other races. I actually think it’s quite nice that the children’s races are given such prominence – it certainly gave me a positive first impression of running when I took part. Always well organised, the addition of medals this year was a nice touch and I’ll definitely be back again.

Leave a Reply

